Close
Menu
Member Login Membership Submit Information
25 Nov 2020 - 10 RabiulAkhir 1442 Syuruk 6:51 Zuhur 12:54
25 Nov 2020 - 10 RabiulAkhir 1442 | Subuh 5:29 | Syuruk 6:51 | Zuhur 12:54 | Asar 16:17 | Maghrib 18:54 | Ishak 20:08
Support Our Efforts
Sponsor us to continue building IslamicEvents
Views: 1439

SGS New Webinar: Global Halal Certification: Current status, operational challenges & future trends

[Event has ended]
Tue, 7 October 2014, 4:00 pm | English
online
SGS
Shaykh Tauqir Ishaq, Evangelia Komitopolulou

webinar, halal certification, halal market

Fees: none

The objective of this webinar (45-minute presentation / 15-minute Q&A) is to provide an overview of the Halal market, its current stratus and forecast growth, highlight the key points of differentiation amongst the different Halal certification standards, discuss the importance of a global, harmonized Halal standard and identify key requirements in Halal certification.

Agenda

• The Global Halal market: Diversity of halal – food & services; importance of halal; market size, trends & forecasts
• Global Halal Certification: Existing certification in Muslim and non-Muslim countries; key similarities and differences, self-certification issues, harmonisation of standards and practices
• Common requirements & Pitfalls in Halal Certification
• Conclusions

Background

Rapid growth and interest in halal food has captured significant attention from the food industry. Halal means ‘that which is permitted in Islamic Law' and it is normally associated with food products. It can at times be difficult to control and guarantee, especially by suppliers who are new to this process. This also applies to those not fully appreciating the halal market and those slow to adapt to scholarly consensus (Ijma) or changes in importing/production requirements in Muslim countries. The halal quality standard was originally designed to encompass product supply and manufacturing for processed food, cosmetics, pharmaceutical and medical products. However, it has gradually been extended to cover services involved in halal product logistics.

The Halal status has increasingly been considered a certification standard for quality and is under greater scrutiny than ever before. From the consumer point of view it can be difficult to evaluate and verify and is an extremely sensitive subject. Therefore, consumers have to largely rely on the seller and/or trust the information provided on the product label to guide their purchase. In the case of halal, such a trust is more than simply looking at the ingredients as it encompasses the entire procurement and production process including training safety and company commitment. Halal certification must be both thorough and credible if it is to provide Muslim consumers with the necessary assurances that they seek as part of the Halal quality seal.

Target Audience

The webinar is aimed at companies interested to get a good understanding of Halal certification requirements or professionals and others that wish to be educated on the topic.

Details

Register for Session 1 schedule
https://sgseventcenter.webex.com/sgseventcenter/onstage/g.php?t=a&d=709741143
04:00 p.m. Singapore, Kuala Lumpur (Singapore Time)
09:00 a.m. London (GMT Summer Time)
10:00 a.m. Paris, Berlin, Madrid, Amsterdam (Europe Summer Time)
05:30 p.m. Darwin (Australia Central Time)

Register for Session 2 schedule
https://sgseventcenter.webex.com/sgseventcenter/onstage/g.php?t=a&d=701666683
09:00 a.m. New York (Eastern Daylight Time)
02:00 p.m. London (GMT Summer Time)
03:00 p.m. Paris, Berlin, Madrid, Amsterdam (Europe Summer Time)
10:00 a.m. Brazil (S. America Eastern Standard Time)

Organisers

SGS

Speakers

Shaykh Tauqir Ishaq, Evangelia Komitopolulou

Comments



Our platforms